Why might this be the case? What could be the disadvantages of being self-employed?

Lately there has been a growing interest towards self-employment and many people have decided to quit their regular jobs and build up their own businesses. We will discuss the merits and demerits of this shift of interest for the society and people whom make this decision. We will also take a look at the factors that might be causing this matter. These days in our modern society entrepreneurship has become a controversial topic. While many people still prefer the job security of working for organizations and companies, the others prefer the convenience of self-employment. The topic has become so viral that majority of business schools provide a new education field called entrepreneurship in order to prepare the future business owners with the necessary skills. I firmly believe that rapid growth of social media and communication tools have had a significant impact on this change of interest. With the help of online marketplaces and social media services, starting your own business is just a few clicks away from you. Unlike a few decades ago that being self employed required at least a physical store, presence of World Wide Web has made it less risky and many people from across the globe can run their own virtual store with minimum amount pf investments. From my point of view, this rapid growth of interest in entrepreneurship is beneficial for both owners and their customers. More enthusiasm towards self-employment means more independent businesses which results in a more stiff competition. It also transfers some of the wealth from huge businesses to small business owners which decreases economic inequality and helps to adjust the income distribution among the society.