Why is happiness hard to describe?

As the majority of adults spend most of their time at work, being content with your career is a crucial part of a person’s health and happiness. This essay will first discuss which elements lead to job satisfaction before then addressing the question of how likely it might be that everyone can be happy with their job. First of all, two of the most important things that might lead to someone being satisfied at work are being treated with respect by managers and being compensated fairly. If those more senior than you respect you as a person and the job you are doing, then you feel like you are valued. A fair salary and benefits are also important considerations because if you feel you are being underpaid, you will either resent your bosses or look for another job. These two factors came top of a recent job satisfaction survey conducted by www. monster. com, which found that 72% of people were pleased with their current role when their superiors regularly told them they were appreciated. Secondly, with regards to the question of happiness for all workers, it is generally believed that this is, and always will be, highly unlikely. The vast majority of people fail to reach their goals and end up working in a job they do not really care about in return for a salary. This money is often just enough to pay their living expenses which often means they can become trapped in a cycle of disenchantment. For example, The Times recently reported that 89% of office workers would leave their jobs if they did not need the money. In conclusion, being satisfied with your trade or profession is an important part of one’s well-being and respect from one’s colleagues and fair pay can improve your level of happiness, however, job satisfaction for all workers is probably an unrealistic prospect.