Why is abortion controversial in Mexico?

"Respect for life and its protection by law should be guaranteed to every human being from conception to natural death. " - Juan Pablo II In this essay I will analyse the feticide in Mexico, which is more popularly known as abortion, in medical terms it is defined as a “procedure to end a pregnancy by removing or expulsing from the uterus a fetus/embryo and placenta using medicine or surgery” (MedlinePlus, 2020). This action is a life or death decision, which is why it has become a delicate and controversial topic nowadays because it has been increasing over the years, not only in Mexico but also in the whole world. To begin, abortion has become a national issue and it has gained a lot of weight due to the activists and feminists protests that are pro-abortion because everytime they march against it, more people adds up to the movement. Most of the Mexican Parties take advantage of this current situation, so it could be said that the government thinks in a similar way as the society because some people consider abortion as a public health problem, so that it should be realized freely and safely, on the contrary other people assume that is an unethical action that goes against the integrity and morality of the practitioners and that there are more important issues to deal with. “In criminal law, both murder and abortion are grouped into the same Title of: Crimes against Life and Body Integrity" (Legal Forum, 2019). However, all jurisdictions substantiate some exceptions for this general criminalization. In addition, abortion in Mexico is allowed under circumstances covered by law, known as causals, and every state regulates which of the 8 casuals in Mexico accepts. All penal codes allow legal abortion for rape survivors and the majority of the states allows the procedure only if the woman´s life is in danger. Even though, only Mexico City and Oaxaca have legal abortion, no matter what the cause is, information provided by the Health Personnel in Mexico says that from 2007 (year in which the abortion was legalized in Mexico) to September 2019, 216, 755 abortions have been attained by Legal Termination of Pregnancy (ILE) services, of which 47. 1% are realized by women between the ages of 18 and 24, and 5. 6% by girls and adolescents from 11 to 17 years old. Imagine how much more abortions have been performed illegally. “The Mexican states with the higher number of abortions are Mexico City, Baja California and State of Mexico” (Statista Research Department, 2020), with this statistics we can see that the region where you belong to may influence in your opinion towards abortion. I have come to the conclusion that we all have the right to live, even though I respect everyone's point of view, no one should deny us life because it is the 2nd article of the Human Rights. Nevertheless, of religious, ethical, moral and gender postures, feticides are not correct because the suffix “cide” basically means kill, therefore it is not an interruption it is the action where you take someone's life that does not have the voice to defend himself.