Living In Big Cities Is Bad For People's Health.

Human health is receiving a great concern from society. While it is true that people can gain benefits when living in cites, I believe that city life has detrimental effects on people’s health. On the one hand, people can reap benefits from living in cities. Firstly, medical systems in municipalities are advanced. In cities, hospitals and health centers often update modern medical facilities, which helps to detect diseases early through regular check- ups, and then patients can be treated in time. As a result, prevention and treatment in cities are better than in small towns or villages. Secondly, inhabitants of cities can promote their health by exercising regularly in fitness centers. For example, going to the gym with modern sport facilities and personal trainers is one of the best way for people to do exercises daily. This helps people not only to reduce their stress levels but also to build up resistance to diseases. On the other hand, I contend that city life has several adverse impacts on the health of people. Firstly, severe air pollution in cities causes public health to deteriorate. The air quality in cities is often poor, due to pollution from traffic and household waste. As a consequence, citizens are likely to suffer from serious lung diseases, such as pneumonia and tuberculosis. Secondly, people live in cities tend to be more stressed out in comparison with those in rural areas. The cost of living in cities is exorbitant, which puts citizens under strain. This severely hinders people from achieving a rewarding life. In conclusion, although the advantages of living in cities are undeniable, I claim that city life increases the risk of several health problems.