Stress since young: An epidemic among students and how it impacts on them

Stress and anxiety feelings are part of a student's life. Stress is the body physical or mental response to challenges. Some stress levels can actually be good for us, as the right kind of stress encourages us toward change and ourselves growth, this also motivates students to overcome challenges. However, when stress and anxiety persist for an extended period and intensify, this becomes concerning, especially when students are overwhelmed and this can become a load or even a health risk, as it can negatively affect the student's mind and body and may have a variety of harmful effects and thus need to be addressed. Therefore, this is having a great impact on the students´ lives, and several reasons are causing it. The AIS reported that eight in ten college students experience frequent stress. This means that the vast majority of students live under stress. Some of the things that students often cite as causes for this are; examinations, multiple deadlines, difficulty in organizing work, poor time management, leaving assignments to the last minute, adjusting to life in a new environment; city or even country, difficulties with personal relationships, parents or problems at home, among others. It is normal to feel like this sometimes, each person has their reasons and responds to stress in different ways. But we should begin to worry about that when stress persists in the student for a longer period of time or when alarming consequences begin to reflect on them. According to the American Psychological Association, there exist three types of stress; acute, episodic and chronic. Acute stress is the most common, it happens to all of us. Is the result of recent or anticipated stressors and it passes with time. The episodic acute stress is acute stress but it occurs frequently. Is a recurring type of stress that happens over and over. And finally we have chronic acute stress, this one can be thought of as never-ending that relentlessly wears away at you. This type of stress begins to affect your health, and can lead to heart problems, strokes, among other issues. When a student undergoes chronic stress or high stress levels, their ability to learn, memorize, and post good academic performances can be interfered with regardless of their age or grade. Stress can also make a student experience poor mental, emotional, and physical health. There are various stress management strategies students may take to reduce stress. They can get regular physical activity and practice such relaxation techniques. Students may also keep stress away by spending quality time with friends and family, and keeping a sense of humor. Another strategy may be to find time for such hobbies as listening to music, playing sports, and reading a book. It is also important that one gets enough sleep and consumes a balanced diet. I can conclude that stress in students can cause several serious and worrying effects, both physical, mentally, and academic. As a solution, both parents and teachers should work together in ensuring that students are not under pressure and do not experience much stress because it is not good for their health and academic ability.