Why do students don't like learning History?

It is a pleasure to be here. We all know the importance of knowledge and how it can help us get better opportunities in schools and jobs. If we are good at Maths, we can become an accountant. If we are good at Literature, we can become a teacher. We choose what we are good at, that is what people tend to do. But how about History, which job can we choose if we are good at it? That is a good question. Unlike Maths, Literature, and English. History can not be remembered by formulas or rules. We have to remember everything and I mean EVERYTHING. We have to remember the days, the months, the years, and all the names in every event of not only Vietnam but also the world. In short, you simply need to be a human history book if you want to work for a job related to History. I have a friend who is also good at History, not because she likes it but rather she has a gift for it. She always gets 8, 5 or 9 in her tests, I thought that she would turn her gift into a career. The day we chose our majors, I asked which one did she picked. And to my surprise, she chose business administration. I asked her: " Why didn't you choose a History major? You're good at it, so you will do great ". She sighed: " I know that I'm good but it doesn't suit me. You only need a good memory to have " talent " at it. History classes are so dull, I don't want to spend 3 years of college learning it. Now that we have the Internet, we don't need to remember anymore. " That leads me to a thought: " Why students don't like learning History? ". If a straight-A student, like my friend, does not enjoy the subject. How can average students, like myself, develop an interest in it? Who to blame? Is this the teachers' fault or the students? I once watched a TV show about this matter, it's called " Trường Teen ". During that day's debate, a contestant stated: "Having low history scores is not the student's fault, but rather it is due to prejudice, and education is the one that builds the student's consciousness". If we have a more interesting way of teaching, students won't feel bored which leads to the statistic that 70% of History scores are below average. When my friends and I were discussing it, one of them said: " Students don't have high History scores is because they didn't get the fundamental knowledge". I couldn't agree with her because to me and many other students, History is a dry subject. In class, all we do is listen to the teacher and write down things that she said like a puppet. We see the subject as something we only need to learn by heart to graduate. We didn't understand or feel anything during that time. So when we graduated, everything I've learned in that year was just POOF. Gone. Some may think that because I was lazy or I'm blaming the education system, but no. It's not like that, I LOVE history and I love listening to the stories about how we defended our country and all its glory. Because as a Vietnamese and as a patriotic person, I love my country and our's history. But I can't love the History subject. To be clear, no one hates their country's history, but rather they hate the way it is taught. There is a prejudice that has been implanted into the students, parents, and society, that is History is seen as a sub-subject. So we only need to learn by heart, which leads to uninterested. Makes us don't want to appreciate, put in the effort, and spend time for it. In America, with only 300 years of history, History is a choice subject. But in Vietnam, with 4000 years of civilization, where history is the core, is our's primary care. Even with that, why History still be seen as a sub-subject in Vietnam? American history is applied directly to economics and politics. While in Vietnam, we were unable to do the same, we only see the subject as a graduate subject. We also don't discuss this in class because the study program is too long, the teacher can only try to stuff knowledge into our heads. Without letting us think outside the box and look at more diverse aspects. History is crucial in society. But everything is moving forward and we can't stay in the past. Nowadays, history can't be applied to reality or neither teach us how to think. That makes history becomes a job with fewer opportunities. As we grow up we will start to develop the thought that we are going to leave our's parents' embrace soon. We start to study for emerging jobs such as technology, science, etc. . . And these careers do not relate to History. In interviews, the employers don't expect their's employees to be good at History. Makes History more and more unimportant. To pursue success, passion, and riches is what everyone dreams. Students completely have the rights to follow the path that leads them to their's success.