Why do some people avoid getting involved in politics

In 2020, the voter turnout rate of the presidential election was roughly 61. 1% of the number citizens who were eligible to vote in the United State. This means that not everyone is interested in voting, which may be the most relevant to politics. In other words, some people do not want to be involved in this field. This essay will discuss several reasons for that fact. One of the most common reasons people avoid getting involved in politics is the shortage of political knowledge. They might not be informed enough to talk about this theme or not be confident to take any activities related to politics. More specifically, politics is an intricate subject which only ones who have reached a certain education level can understand and make good arguments when discussing it. It may be a challenge for many people when they have to talk about democracy or republic because they do not really understand what these terms mean. Another cause for some people to avoid getting involved in politics is that they find politics toxic somehow. That is because they think politics is issues of power and conflict. For some people, politics is a war for powers among opposition parties or individuals who support those parties. In this debate, people do not listen to each other and are obsessed with proving that they are always right. This does not satisfy the neutrals who view this world as something peaceful. Finally, some people are apathetic to politics because they think that it is not relatable to them. More specifically, their lives revolve around taking care of their family, developing their career, or maintaining relationships. Thus, they seem to believe that decisions made by politicians will not have any impact on their daily life. Take the example of the latest US presidential election, a person when being asked about the reason why they did not vote answered that they did not care who wins the election because whatever happened, their live still continued without any changes. To sum up, while politics is an essential part of societies, it is undeniable that there are certain reasons that make some people do not keen on being involved in that field. I firmly believe that the lack of related knowledge and some people’s perspectives to this subject such as its toxicity or irrelevance to people lives are the main reasons for this matter.