Why computer games and whats your opinion?

A large proportion of adults now enjoy playing computer games during their free time. In my opinion, this is a result of developments in mobile technology and is decidedly negative since computer games encourage passivity. The primary cause of increased interest in games is their availability. In the past, computer games could only be played on desktop computers at home. Now, it is possible to play the same essential games on laptops, tablets, and smartphones. This means that individuals are more likely to become addicted over time as research has shown the strength of intermittent rewards in forming addictive habits. For example, the average worker can play games on their phone while on the commute to work, during work on a desktop or laptop, and throughout the day whenever they have a break. This creates a powerful feedback loop in the same way as other drugs. In my opinion, the entertainment value of such games pales in comparison to their impact on sedentary lifestyles. Before computer games became pervasive habits, individuals were more likely to spend time talking with friends, reading books, participating in physical activities, and being generally more productive. All these habits were better for mental and physical health. Computer games, on the other hand, require a minimal level of mental activity and feed users small bursts of dopamine that keep them occupied and entertained for hours. The cumulative effect, particularly when coupled with other passive activities such as using social media and watching streaming sites, is a generation of less active and creative individuals. In conclusion, adults play computer games more often these days because of the availability of mobile technology and this is harmful as it fosters passivity. It is therefore important for adults to set limits for themselves.