Why cars are important in Rohingya crisis management?

Importance of car in Rohingya crisis management: In late August 2017, the international humanitarian community launched a massive emergency operation in Bangladesh to assist hundreds of thousands of Rohingya refugees crossing the border from Rakhine State in Myanmar, fleeing the brutal violence of large-scale ethnic cleansing by Myanmar security forces. In total there are 35 camps which are situated in Ukhiya and Teknaf area. Total 48 officers are working under RRRC office in different capacities which includes officers in Bhasanchar, camp in charges, etc. UNHCR provides vehicles for the deployment of the government counterparts such as Refugee Refugee Relief and Repatriation Commissioner, district administration, fire service, and police in Cox’s Bazar and UNHCR and partners to meet emergency needs amid the influx of Rohingyas into Bangladesh from Myanmar. 1. The farthest camp from cox’s bazar is situated approximately 6o km away from the RRRC Office. The jeeps and pickups are used for ensuring safe and quick movement of the officers to the camp areas. 2. There are 20 Jeeps constantly providing services to officers from MoFA, MoDMR, and other ministries in time of official visit made to camps at Cox’s Bazar. 3. Some officers stay in the hub (situated near the camp area) and registered camps to respond quickly in any odd law and order situation and other officers go to camp offices from cox’s Bazar. In both cases, cars are not only important for officers quick movement but also for securing safety. Moreover, various important amenities like medicines and other important materials are sent to camps by using these cars. 4. The car provided by UNHCR includes 5 ambulances which are functioning in NYP, KTP, Teknaf, and RRRC Office. These ambulances play a vital role in transporting Rohingya patients in case of emergency while referred to specific healthcare facilities. 5. There is poor and insufficient vehicle access due to FDMN settlements and narrower roads in some parts of the camp areas where the camp in charges and CiC office staff uses motorcycles to reach that part of camps.