recidivism in offenders after their first punishment.

In recent years, there has been a growing trend towards recidivism in offenders after their first punishment. This problem is ascribed to many factors and there is a wide range of solutions that should be implemented to deal with this. There are many reasons why lawbreakers relapse into their illegal behaviors. First, it is a real challenge for perpetrators to find decent long-term employment. To explain, most companies perform due diligence during the recruitment process and their background check policies often eliminate profiles with criminal records. As a result, this is especially unfavorable for ex-inmates to make ends meet as recruiters often hold prejudice against people with past criminal backgrounds for fear of potential risks in terms of finance and reputation. Second, punishments for crime lack needed deterrence. To illustrate, sexual harassment convicts are normally sentenced to 3-year imprisonment, which is usually more lenient than what they deserve so they show no repentance for their crime and tend to repeat nefarious behaviors. To reduce the rates of recidivism, several effective measures are available. The first measure is for the authority to establish support centers for former law offenders. These organizations will help them reintegrate back into society, provide credible post-sentence supervision and act as guarantors for their lawful behaviors. Reference from those centers gives employers a sense of security so ex-offenders have a higher chance to obtain a job. Second, the government should also impose more stringent punishments for criminals. Many countries have inflicted life sentences on rapists, thus reducing recidivism rates of this felony. If the government does not clamp down on illegal acts, lawbreakers will not learn their lessons and continue their malevolent wrongdoings to society. In conclusion, the fact that ex-criminals are reoffending is rooted in many reasons, and it can be solved by implementing those measures simultaneously.