why are you studying your current major

The growth of computer power has brought phenomenal breakthroughs in hardware and software development, which have in turn changed global behavior and culture. We are truly living in a digital age, driven by computer science. As a result of the digital age, businesses are increasingly relying on software programs to deliver and transmit data across a multitude of platforms. This trend impacts all industries, from healthcare and banking to transportation and accounting. Therefore, Computer Science is needed in every industry and it can help every human being to have a better life. I like the fact that by studying computer science there are a variety of specializations to choose from. Such as, software developer, AI, and machine learning engineer, IT manager, which I had working experience in, and so on.  Concerning the continuous growth of the Information Technology world, there are many opportunities for careers across the world with high-paid salaries. After working in this industry for more than three years, I have decided to continue my education in CS, to broaden my knowledge in this area in one of the top-ranked CS departments in Canada. I have gained a lot of experience in the working environment; however, I have always felt the need to get more profound knowledge in this field, especially Data Management and Analysis and AI and Machine Learning areas. Even during my undergraduate studies, I always enjoyed studying Data Structure, Databases, Algorithms Design, and Artificial Intelligence courses which I got the highest score in all of them. During my professional career, I had worked for different industries and realized that data plays a huge role in a company's success or failure. While working in Raybod Ravesh Co. as a part-time employee, we developed project management software for the main company that I am working for (Ronak Engineering Co. ). I have been involved in this process from the scratch, writing some basic codes and mainly preparing proper infrastructure for the software to operate. I have learned by heart that “data is the core of any software”. After collecting and storing the data in a database, it is used for analysis purposes to help a company to find its weaknesses and strengths. After completing some local courses related to SQL server such as, design and development, administration, and business intelligence, and employing this knowledge in my workspace, and expanding my practical skills, I felt ready to continue my education in graduate studies to expand my knowledge in the Data Management field. While the Data Science program might look more reasonable for my passion, I have chosen to study Computer Science instead because there is more variety in the course topics. Especially I like to learn more about Artificial Intelligence and machine learning, which UBC sits at the forefront of this field revolution. It is fascinating how AI can help people in their personal and professional life. With the help of Machine Learning, companies can analyze their data rapidly and automatically, which helps organizations to identify profitable opportunities or even avoid unknown risks. I like to make this technology more accessible for smaller companies who might be unfamiliar with this valuable science. I have chosen to study in Canada mainly because of the cultural diversity and its warm and welcoming society, which makes it a safe and peaceful place for international students without fear of racial discrimination. Moreover, the quality of education is consistently very high throughout Canada, and there are many universities with high global rank providing various programs. Also, there is an opportunity to work for well-known companies and gain some valuable experience. Among all the top universities across Canada, I have chosen British Colombia University to complete my Master’s. Since I found out that, UBC’s CS department is one of the best ones in Canada and it has ranked 25th worldwide. Also, learning from such well-known faculty members is an honor. The IT industry in my native country is rapidly growing and shows excellent potential. However, compared to other, more advanced countries like Canada, it is still in its relative infancy. So, by studying in your master’s program and possibly working for a short period in Canada, I expect to gain the necessary expertise and experience to lead our industry to a new era.