Why are we becoming a throwaway society?

Nowadays, we have adopted the throwaway lifestyle and over-consumption and excessive production of short-lived or disposable items is a global phenomenon which is making the condition even worse. There are several causes of the throwaway society and I think advertising could be the first culprit. Advertisements encourage people to purchase goods and services that they do not really need by delivering a message that possessing the latest version of an item could improve a person’s self-image, confidence and even social status. For example, many of today’s teenagers spend nearly $1, 500 buying an iPhone X to show that they are wealthy and fashionable even though their old phones are still in good condition and perfectly functional. Another cause is mass production of non-durable goods which are often used once and thrown away. These products are much cheaper and more convenient than durable ones, hence, attract a large number of customers. Individuals living in the throwaway society could suffer a great deal. They could easily get into serious debt if they get into the habit of buying the latest, novelty items. Many teens are being burdened with thousands of dollars in credit card debt for their unnecessary purchases, which could lead to depression and anxiety. Environmental degradation is another problem facing the throwaway society. Due to excessive production of disposable goods, huge amounts of hazardous waste are being discharged into the environment, which directly contaminates soil and water. In conclusion, there are various factors leading to the advent of our throwaway society and increasing consumer debt and environmental damage are the two major problems which result from this society.