Why are humans producing so much waste in the world?

Nowadays, environmental issues are no longer strange to people. It seems that it is becoming more and more common as the problems of waste, climate change, climate pollution are mentioned too often. Among them, the waste that humans produce in the world is at an alarming rate. This is a problem that has been controversial and has been proposed many solutions. In this essay, I will give reasons why this happens. The main reason is to meet the convenience of customers. Most of today's waste is disposable plastic products and plastic bags make up the majority. Not only is it cheap, but it's also convenient to transport. Instead of having to bring food containers from home to buy food or always carrying a cloth bag to go to the supermarket, making them feel uncomfortable and replacing it with plastic boxes and plastic bags is their convenient choice. For example, restaurants often use plastic containers to store food and plastic bags to deliver food to customers. After using it, the customer will throw it away. The more customers buy, the more waste produced. Moreover, plastic and plastic bags are two materials that are difficult to decompose and often take a long time to disappear. Because of this, there is an overabundance of waste that causes environmental pollution problems. The second reason is that the waste treatment place is still limited in terms of infrastructure and quantity. Although the amount of waste produced is a lot, the waste treatment facilities have not been improved. Most of the companies were formed a long time ago and kept until now, so they cannot cope with such a rapidly increasing number. This can be seen most clearly during the recent Covid- 19 pandemic. The amount of domestic waste has increased a lot, leading to the waste treatment areas in Vietnam being overloaded and unable to contain them. So the question is where will that amount of waste be taken for treatment when the number is increasing, but the treatment area is still there. Not only that, the infrastructure is not upgraded leading to low productivity and not enough to meet today's needs. This has caused the garbage to be stagnant and there is no place to handle it in time. In conclusion, there are many causes of human-produced waste in the world. Among them is to meet the needs of convenience for purchase and sale and is due to the low and limited waste treatment facilities. They need to be limited and improved in the future to reduce environmental pollution from this waste source. Otherwise, it will cause bad consequences for people and the earth.