Who should provide social aminities

One issue generating much argument is who should provide social and sports facilities for the community. While a number of individuals argue that this is the job of corporate organizations, I contend that it is not their responsibility, rather, this is mainly the task of the government. However, corporate entities can opt to contribute their own quota. Truth be told, it behoves the government to construct sports and recreational facilities for the citizenry. This constitutes what an elected authority owes those it is supposed to serve. In other words, it is part of its social contract with the people. For instance, there are various ministries under every government and this includes one for sports, or another that caters to the youth and where they could have recreation. Moreover, these ministries have a budget every year, thus, money should have been provided for areas reserved for playing games. On the other hand, conglomerates can choose to give back to their communities. This can be by sponsoring the provision of sports arenas for use by the locals or by upgrading existing facilities. For example, Pepsi has helped to build training grounds where young footballing talents are groomed who will tomorrow become superstars. To put it another way, an organization can decide to donate a mini stadium for charity purposes as part of its corporate social responsibility. In conclusion, though people say companies should be the ones to provide playgrounds for the inhabitants of their community, I opine that it is a duty meant for the government. Nonetheless, business entities can choose to augment the effort of the government in this regard