Permanent residency is a person's legal resident status in a country or territory of which such person is not a citizen but where he or she has the right to reside on a permanent basis. This is usually for a permanent period; a person with such legal status is known as a permanent resident. In the United States, such a person is referred to as a green card holder but more formally as a Lawful Permanent Resident (LPR). [1]

Permanent residency is a person's legal resident status in a country or territory of which such person is not a citizen but where he or she has the right to reside on a permanent basis. This is usually for a permanent period; a person with such legal status is known as a permanent resident. In the United States, such a person is referred to as a green card holder but more formally as a Lawful Permanent Resident (LPR). [1]Permanent residency is a person's legal resident status in a country or territory of which such person is not a citizen but where he or she has the right to reside on a permanent basis. This is usually for a permanent period; a person with such legal status is known as a permanent resident. In the United States, such a person is referred to as a green card holder but more formally as a Lawful Permanent Resident (LPR). [1]