While some people believe sport has an important role in society, others think it is nothing more than leisure activities.

There is a debate about the role of sport in today's society. While many people believe that sports play a significant role in society, others say it is a leisure activity. However, both views have their own pros and cons. This following essay will discuss both aspects, then I will comment on my opinion. On the one hand, it is the undeniable fact that sports play is important for the development of society. . Firstly, playing sports not only enhances the physical health of the community but also helps people improve mental health which is necessary for life such as reflexes, stamina and endurance. For instance, proud sporting nations like Brazil and France have an ideal body and healthy population due to the emphasis on sports in the country. Secondly, sports events can generate significant revenue for the country's economy. It is clear that organizing international sport events such as the World Cup and Olympic can attract many tourists worldwide, whereby the host nation will receive revenue from ticket sales, advertising, live broadcasts and food sales. Thirdly, sports is also a means of establishing solidarity and arousing patriotism among the masses. For example, in Vietnam's victory over Qatar to enter the Asian football final last year, everyone regardless of age, profession, religion went down to the streets cheering, shaking hands with each other, waving national flags and singing the national anthem to celebrate the winning. On another hand, it is correct that sport could be counted as a leisure activity because not everybody has the abilities and potentials to become a professional sports person. The fact shows that people with weak health often do not have enough health to participate in vigorous sports activities such as endurance running and boxing. Thus, people generally think about it an effortless activity for relaxing their body and mind during vacations In conclusion, although some people play sport as a leisure activity, I still believe that sport can have a significant impact on the whole society because it has brought health advantages to each citizen and social sectors.