economic crisis in indonesia

An economic crisis is known as a situation in which a country’s economy degenerates significantly. The economic crisis is one of the most feared events in history because the government and society will both suffer losses at the same time. This happened in my country, Indonesia, Indonesia is one of the largest countries in Southeast Asia, both in terms of land area and people. As a result, income distribution has become dramatically more unequal. In Indonesia, there were several major leads to income inequality, for instance; unequal job opportunities, high wealth concentration, Inequality of education, etc. Firstly, the wealth inequality between those working in the private and public sectors has long been a source of major worry in Indonesia, and it has recently become particularly noticeable. The disparity is so large that we can easily find it in our daily lives. It is no secret that public officers’ monthly wages can only support them for one or two weeks, so they must be creative? To survive the remaining weeks. As a result, there is a substantial income gap that could trigger corruption, since it creates corruption market in which illegal fund flows from high-income sector to the low-income sector in exchange of service delivery. In other words, the corruption market exists since there is supply and demand, in which the public officers become corruption providers while the other sector becomes the buyer. In this monopolistic market, a seller could charge the buyer a very high rate since buyers have no other option. Consequently, the impact of corruption on the economy could be enormous. Besides, there is also inequality of education case in my country. The Indonesian government is working to increase all citizens' access and quality of education. Even though its efforts had a visible impact, many of the goals for improving access to and quality of education have yet to be met, and educational inequality remains. For example, most schools in Indonesia's big cities, including Jakarta, Bandung, Surabaya, Medan, Makassar, and others, have excellent infrastructure and high-quality teachers, as well as no leaks in the classrooms and easy internet access, providing children with more opportunities to learn. Children in Indonesia's big cities don't have to work to help their parents get money, which allows them to spend more time learning and playing with their classmates. Some Indonesian rural schools and islands, like in Papua, on the other hand, have poor facilities and instructor quality, as well as leaks in classrooms, poor building quality, and challenging internet connectivity. Students in remote areas will find it more difficult to acquire new knowledge, especially in this epidemic condition. Moreover, today, Indonesia's four wealthiest men - The Hartono brothers, lead by Budi and Michael Hartono, still possess $25 billion in assets, approximately equaling the wealth of the poorest 40% of Indonesia's 250 million people. The Hartono's, who run a clove cigarette company, could generate enough interest on their inheritance in a year to end extreme poverty in Indonesia. Inequality weakens the battle against poverty, slows economic progress, and puts social harmony at risk. What does this mean for the average citizen? Low earnings and job uncertainty are common among the poorest populations. Rural and urban areas have different levels of access to infrastructures such as power and good roads. Big corporations and wealthy individuals hold the vast bulk of the land, and they reap all of the benefits. Similarly, the educational system is underfunded, and fair access is still a challenge. In conclusion, an economic crisis is not a small problem that can be easily solved. Due to the huge population and a lot of rural areas in Indonesia, we should draw attention to local governments. Their roles are now crucial to ensure funds and programs are handled optimally to boost economic growth and job creation in rural areas. On the other hand, society must also obey government rules and have a growth mindset, try to be as creative as possible to achieve new skills, then apply them in something useful that might be as a source of income. Therefore, soon or later, Indonesia will be a prosperous country.