While some feel that GMOs are harmless and are essential to providing the world with an ample supply of food, others argue that GMOs are not safe because they pose serious health risks. Discuss.

With the development of the biological sciences, now it has become possible to genetically modify different organisms, whether it is crop or animal. However, when it comes to food, most people argue that it could be highly harmful for the human body to change the genes of food, whereas others have positive hopes for this. In this essay I will scrutinise both sides and give my opinion for the very issue. Firstly, Usage of GMO in food production is claimed to be promising for the human population. Owners of the idea believe that with the help of new technologies it is possible to fight against massive famine in under developed countries and the whole world without spending much time and money. Besides, Genetically modified foods may be more sustainable and long lasting. But, others, who strongly disagree with modifying the food and crops, also have serious opinions on this. Altering the DNA of the crops or animal cells for food purposes may cause various diseases. For example, eating GMO foods might bring about cancer in the body. The scientists state because the cancer is developed by the mutation of the cells in the DNA. Moreover, in the aftermath of the changes in the DNA, a certain type of product can have highly allergic effects. So I also believe that it is not a good idea to risk the human health with the GMO. To sum up, Even if GMO foods can be solution to many global problems like hunger, the possible health impacts should not be overlooked as it may result in long term issues in the health care of the humanity.