While people today find it hard to live in this society, others feel the past generations had a much harder life. State your opinion and give examples to support your answer.

Substances and values change with time and make people of all ages face various problems. People born in the Interbellum generation experienced the hardships of a social transformation by World War II. The economic and social problems during this period are the main reasons for having a harder life in the past generations. The global economic depression from 1929 to 1933 made people’s life difficult due to economic problems. During this period, 2 million to 4 million students dropped out of school, the unemployment rate was about 25%, and the suicide rate rose. The sharp drop in income makes it difficult for people to survive. People at this time spent ten years returning the economy to an upward trend. In the Cold War after World War II, the two opposing forces of capitalism and socialism formed in the world made people live in terror. In order to prevent protests by dissidents, white terror occurred in Taiwan from 1949 to 1992. The suspected insurgents were sentenced and caused many unjust cases. The basic rights of the people are not guaranteed. During this period, people's lives, property, health, and spirit were seriously damaged. People of the Interbellum generations lived in a society of economic depression and social unrest. The difficulty of survival limited the rights of people in the past; therefore, they didn't have the freedom that modern people have. The past generation had a harder life than the modern generation.