Montgomery’s life and that of her fictional character Anne

To date, Canada has produced only one classic children’s tale to rank with Alice’s Adventures in wonderland and the works of Mark Twain; this was Lucy Maud Montgomery’s Anne of Green Gables. Lucy Maud Montgomery was born in Clinton, Prince Edward Island. Her mother died soon after her birth, and when her father went to Saskatchewan to assume a business position, she moved in with her grandparents in Cavendish, Prince Edward Island. There she went to school and later qualified to be a teacher. Montgomery wrote the Anne books while living in Cavendish and helping her grandmother at the post office. The first of the books, Anne of Green Gabbles, was published in 1908, and in the next three years she wrote two sequels. Like Montgomery, the heroine of the book is taken in by an elderly couple who lives in the fictional town of Avonlea, and Montgomery incorporated many events from her life in Cavendish into the Anne books. In 1911, Montgomery married Evan Macdonald and the couple soon moved to Ontario, where she wrote many other books. However, it was her first efforts that secured her prominence, and the Anne books are still read all around the world. Her novels have helped create a warm picture of Prince Edward Island’s special character. Several movies, a television series, and a musical play have been based on her tales, and today visitors scour the Island for locations described in the book.