While people in developing countries are happier than in the past, people in developed countries are less happy. Why? What can be learnt from this?

It is argued that the happy index does not correlate with economic prosperity in multiple nations. This essay will explicate the reasons before giving a few lessons obtained from the phenomenon. To commence with, the happiness difference between citizens living in superior and inferior countries can stem from the intensity of their daily workload. Because of competitiveness, compared to those in the underprivileged environment who merely need to work for a short duration, employees in the prestigious world are required to constantly plunge themselves into hefty missions to yield a large number of products, resulting in their shattering physical and mental conditions; this can be illustrated by a staggering figure of over three-fourth for Japanese office laborers suffering from backache and short-sightedness due to their exposure to computer screens for 12 hours per day. Another cause associated with the contrast in individuals’ satisfaction in different nations is material life quality. Indeed, thanks to greater economic improvement, inhabitants living in destitute regions can be provided with physiological fundamental needs, leading to the elimination of such social problems as famine and medical urgency, whereas those in industrial countries have reached their sense of contentment as they are fully equipped with cutting-edge facilities and essential services. In other words, work intensity and materialistic betterment are two leading factors that result in the conversion of happiness trends in several parts of the globe. The major implication acquired from the tendency is the subordinate contribution of materialism to happiness. This is because human gratification can be fulfilled as long as their demands in not only handsome property but also affection and empathy from other individuals are satisfied. To illustrate, a rewarding businessman in an industrial nation cannot be regularly in a comfortable state of mind if he keeps himself tensed in projects or stock fluctuations while an ordinary worker can be stress-free for a long time because he has a chance to replenish his energy after stringent working hours via recreational means, including music and sports matches. Therefore, physical enrichment is not a prerequisite for individual comfort. In conclusion, the disparity in happiness between modern and developing countries can be explained by numerous reasons and valuable messages can be conveyed from the inclination. It is advised that ruling authorities should take proper steps to raise the happiness of global citizens.