Which way do you prefer to spend time: with a small number of close friends or with many friends? Compare these two views.

There is a belief among some people that instead of paying a portion of their salary to the government in the form of taxes, they should save it for themselves. This essay disagrees with this idea because it creates a greater economic disparity in the society. Firstly, this essay will outline that not paying taxes impedes the authorities' ability to invest in the development efforts, followed by how this will create an insecure living situation. Income from taxes being the major source of revenue for the government, if they are not paid, it diminishes their power to spend for the advancement of the nation. They would not be able to develop infrastructure, improve education, provide health care or strengthen the military. Consequently, the nation's overall progress will lag behind as compared to other countries in the world. As an illustration, Zimbabwe has fallen seriously down in the list of developed nations because almost half of the population does not pay taxes. If the citizens do not pay their fair share, the financial gap between the wealthy and the poor will start to grow exponentially. As this happens, the poor folks develop animosity towards the well-to-do folks which leads to more crimes and violence. Eventually, the society will indeed become unsafe for everyone to live in. For instance, the situation in Sierra Leone has become extremely violent and unsafe due to a big difference in the economic standards of many people. In conclusion, paying taxes is absolutely imperative because without that not only can the government not ensure the progress of the nation, but also, without that a dangerous law and order situation comes to life in the community. Hence I disagree with the premise that people should keep their earnings to themselves.