which one do you think is better to help do research, internet or academic books? Explain why.

In many developed nations, consumerism is not only about buying the everyday things we need to survive, but is also seen as a form of entertainment. This essay will argue that this is a very negative development because of the detrimental effect marketing and advertising has on people and the fact that it is a very unproductive hobby. The main reason people buy luxury items is because of the influence multinationals’ marketing campaigns have on them. We are constantly bombarded with messages telling us that if we buy a certain product we will be happier, more beautiful or more complete. In many ways, these companies trick us into buying their products, when all we need to be happy are much simpler items. For example, fashion chains like Chanel and Prada tell people that they are only good enough if they wear nice clothes and use glamorous models to make people feel unsatisfied with their appearance. Shopping for goods you don’t really need is also not the most productive thing you can do with your time. Not only is it a huge waste of money; it does nothing to develop a person either physically or intellectually. If we compare this activity with other popular pastimes like sport, reading or even watching movies, we can see how unfulfilling shopping really is. For instance, most of my friends who spend their weekends shopping have nothing else to talk about, other than their purchases, whereas my friends who use their time more wisely are often much more interesting to talk to. In conclusion, people should only shop for the necessities and not for pleasure because they are being manipulated by transnational companies and there are also much more constructive ways for people to spend their free time.