Which is more important: improving people's standard of living or protecting the environment?

Nowadays people working and living wealthy lives with all the comforts, but what are the environmental consequences of this lifestyle? First of all, our houses have become more technological than before. Modern devices such as computer, television and home appliances are become essential, but at the same time, these pieces of technology requires more energy and this means more pollution. Secondly, the employment of services has risen during the last ten years. Although job is essential to our lives, several factories and industries have grown with a huge impact to the emissions of carbon dioxide. Last but not least, not only are employment and housing improving pollution, but also the amount of waste. In fact, industries and house devices have risen the consumerism and mass production, with several effects to the surroundings. In conclusion, both employment and modern standard of living have afflicted our world, in light of this, governments should invest more money in the protection of environment to prevent another climate change.