Which is more important - A higher salary or job satisfaction?

There are people who feel that salary is more important while there are others who feel the other way round. According to me there should be the proper balance between the earnings and joy of doing something. Let us discuss this topic in brief. I agree that remuneration is one of the most important factors in deciding whether to do a particular job or not. But focusing merely on money and not thinking about the job satisfaction will invite serious problems in the long term. It can develop frustration, work stress, depression etc. and other serious health issues which can prove to be dangerous. Without liking for a work, it is not possible to reach at the top of the pyramid. Further, it becomes difficult to keep the motivation intact and at some point, even a higher salary will not be able to provide enough motivation to continue. On the other hand, when a person does what he likes, then he / she can put their maximum efforts which will help them as well as the company to grow. With complete satisfaction, it becomes possible to reach at the top. But here the problem is that the job satisfaction will always not provide you with enough money. There are artists, singer, sportsperson who have followed their interests, but they sometimes end up achieving nothing. In my opinion, one should do things which makes them happy but at the same time they should earn enough to feed themselves and their dependent. It is not right to follow the interest and end up reaching nowhere.