Studying abroad has benefit and drawback

Studying abroad has become increasingly common in the last few years, especially for young people from countries such as China and India. Many students and their families clearly consider the experience worth the sacrifices involved. The former often give up friendships when they move abroad; the latter often use their life savings. Moreover many governments are willing to invest huge sums of money in sponsoring their young people to study in universities overseas. However, this trend has drawbacks as well as benefits for those concerned. One crucial drawback is human capital flight. Students who are invested in going abroad rarely come back to their country. They commonly chose to stay abroad and also work there. Prior to leaving home, they may be fully committed to returning. Nevertheless, after a few years living and studying, they tend to be at a stage where they feel satisfied and have less challenges. Thus, they choose to remain in the host country and don’t want to go back to their hometown. Another one is instruction international students receive may not be relevant to their home context. For example, Asian students go abroad to American universities and they are taught to apply into European culture. It is inappropriate with their Asian country. Hence, what they have been trained to do may not be relevant. Whereas, it still has some components of international students find a way to return home. Furthermore, most students find ways to adapt their knowledge to help their hometown develop. Overall, everything has two sides. In Vietnam, we have a lot of international students who go back and modify our home context