Which do you think would be more important, the teacher or technology?

The evolutionary development of technology has been of great assistance for whatever activities humans are executing. Due to this fact, some people might envision that technological devices will outdo teachers in the near future. Nonetheless, I am of the opinion that technology will hardly ever supplant humans in education and thereby being less important. One justification for my viewpoint is that humans, specifically teachers, control technology in their teaching journey. Technological support seems to be so closely intertwined with the teaching process that if detached, education practices per se would be obsolete in this era. Additionally, technology would also end up being nothing without teachers’ involvement. For instance, a teacher in a speaking class may use Flipgrid to facilitate his students’ speaking practice. However, without such instruction and demonstration, how can the students utilize this platform? In this sense, technology is just a means used by teachers to smooth their teaching. Another point that is worth noticing is that social species like humans can only be educated by humans. Take Tarzan as an example, he was stranded in the woods at a very young age and was nurtured by animals. After a long time, he may come back to human society, but could hardly ever be able to re-integrate. This phenomenon holds true to us if wholly educated by technology, that we will become just as robotic and emotionless as those devices are. Therefore, the involvement of humans in the process of education is in mandatory need and teachers’ role, of course, outweigh technology. From the aforementioned points, technology is only construed as an educational means that lends aid to teaching practices, and human teachers, therefore, should be placed in a superior position.