Which do you think is the best way to choose a career?

Choosing a career is one of the most important decisions that a person takes in his life. Some people select a career that has a well-off social status attached to it and also, offers a good livelihood with a huge paycheck; others prefer to follow their hearts and select a job, where they will enjoy working thoroughly. I believe that one should select a well-paying job that is stable, where you can always provide for your families' needs and demands. Good social status follows a good lifestyle, so your job should provide you the capability to enjoy all the materialistic things that life has to offer. If you would like to follow your passion, then you can always pursue it as a hobby instead of pursuing it as a full-time career. Firstly, I prefer white-collar jobs because they are more valued in the market compared to other kind of jobs. In case you lose your current job, there is a higher probablity to find another job in a relatively shorter timeframe. For instance, an IT engineer who earns 80, 000 Euros annually will easily find another job if he loses his current one, due to the high value that the market places on his technical competencies and skills. Also, because he earns a high salary he might have sufficient savings as a buffer which would provide him enough time to search for a new job. As a result, he will lead a stable life compared to others who might not have a white-collar job. Secondly, a well-paying job gives you the capacity to provide not only for your family's needs but also their demands. One can fulfill the needs of their family even by working a lower income job, but if you wish to fulfill the demands of your family, then you definitely need a high-paying job. For example, if you have sufficient savings in your bank account, you can easily write a cheque to buy a Playstation 5 gaming console for your younger one, or a decent first car for your older one. This is something that might not possible if you have a lower income. Lastly, life has a lot of luxuries to offer but you can enjoy them only if you make the big bucks. Whether one chooses to buy a lot of materialistic things or not, is entirely up to them. What is important is, to be in a comfortable position to afford whatever one might need or want. In order to be in this position, one should make a career in a well-paying role. I do understand that living this kind of lifestyle is not for everyone, some people find happiness in other things in life, and I completely respect their life-choices. However, for me personally, the former career choice is the better one. Even if you select the former career choice, you always have a chance to pursue your passion as a hobby. The above-mentioned cases are some of the reasons, why I believe that it is better to pursue a career that pays well and offers a good social status compared to a career where you will enjoy working but might earn a lower income.