Which charity organizations should receive funding from the government. Sport & recreation Charities or Health Charities

Everywhere we turn, nowadays we see charities beseeching the public for money. Whether in the many 'begging letters' that pop unsolicited through our mailboxes daily or in the televised appeals for charities, headed by celebrities trying to tug at our heartstrings. . . . the question is, which charities deserve to be funded and which should be given priority in government funding? Are sports and recreation charities more worthy of a cause for example, than health charities? This is a major dilemma that is by no means a clear-cut issue. Let's take sports and recreation charities compared to health charities as a case in point. The former has a valid claim to government funding. Sport and recreation help reduce stress and keep people fit, positive, and healthy. In addition, sports and recreation centers also provide a community focal point, enriching the lives of many. However, what good is recreation and sport if you are too unwell to participate? There is a much stronger argument, that health is a far greater priority than sport and recreation. Furthermore, an increasingly aged population is becoming a heavy burden on healthcare, necessitating greater fund- ing for charities as the prevalence of Alzheimer's and cancer increases proportionally with an aging population. Many now are reliant on support from health charities. We have an obligation to fund these charities, in return. I believe that the funding of health charities is the greater priority. After all, what good are health and recreation centers if we don’t have enough hospitals for people who are suffering? Without a doubt, government funding must be directed first and foremost to health charities.