Protecting the environment is the responsibility of the government, not each individual

Nowadays, the earth is getting warmer and the environment is getting polluted very badly. However, some people are ignorant to this fact, and when it is mentioned, they insist that protecting the environment is only the government’s duty, not theirs. However, I think that this is not true. In my opinion, protecting the environment is every individual’s responsibility. One of the reasons for this is because they had also caused a part of the pollution too, by travelling with cars and vehicles that releases greenhouse gas as they run on fossil fuel, which is a non-renewable energy. Doing this can also cause resource depletion, which leads to lack of fuel. Research shows that transportation claims 35% of the world’s pollution today, and so the people also have a duty to help the earth restore itself. Otherwise, the greenhouse effect would slowly destroy the ozone layer. Plus, people can always stop this by using renewable energy sources, like solar panels to provide solar power generation. Another reason for this is that the government cannot deal with every type of pollution, they can only deal with major problems that cause a lot of pollution at once. Since the government cannot deal with little problems, it’s the resident’s duty to do it. With the reasons above, I strongly doubt that environmental conservation could be only the government’s duty, not the people.