Whether the government should pay for children's education is a controversial topic in modern society. While this policy is disadvantageous in a few aspects, the advantages are more significant.

There are some disadvantages of the governmental policy of covering children's tuition fees. This is firstly because if such a policy is adopted, less money will be allocated to other sectors. For example, health care and environmental protection may suffer from insufficient governmental funding. In addition to this, if education is free, some students may take it for granted, not something they must pay to receive. If they do it, they may stop trying to achieve good academic results. However, the benefits of providing governmental financial assistance for children's tuition are significant, far outweighing the shortcomings. An important reason is that students from all financial backgrounds may have equal education opportunities. This means that those from low-income families may go to school and receive the same education as those from wealthy families do. Another reason is that parents are relieved from the burden of paying for children's education. As a result, they may have more money for their personal needs. In summary, governmental financial support for children's education costs is associated with many benefits which far outweigh the drawbacks. For these reasons, it is recommended that all governments adopt this policy.