Nowadays, people are using more and more smartphones in their work, study or entertainment. What are the advantages and disadvantage of this?

Nowadays, with the advancements in technology, more and more people are using smartphones as a useful tool in their work, study, and entertainment. Though this is mostly beneficial, there are also some negative aspects that will also be considered. Beginning with the positive points, the ability to work and study on a smartphone means that we can work everywhere. Moreover, work and lessons can be saved safely and transported from place to place. In contrast, in the past, people had their own folders or files which caused difficulties to put them in an exact place. When using cell phones, people can catch up with the latest trend all around the world. For instance, during the outbreak of Covid-19, people do not have to go out but they can study, work, and even do the gym online at home. On the downside, excessive usage of mobile phones causes wastage of valuable time. People might lose their time for their work and study due to overusing smartphones for entertaining on the Internet. In addition, people cannot control themselves when they are addicted to smartphones which can causes distraction from work and study. Mobile phones can also lead to isolation and loneliness which can obviously happen in teenagers and adults. For example, because of the Coronavirus lockdown, residents cannot hang out so they will not improve their communication and social skills which are very important for a person’s development in life. To conclude, although there are potential disadvantages, they are outweighed by the benefits.