whether music be removed from school program

one of the highly controversial topics today relates to whether music is a crucial subject for students to learn at school. from my perspective, while I agree that music would bring multiple mental and emotional values for teenagers but it is by no means indispensable in the school curriculum. on the one hand, people often argue that music is just a waste of time. indeed, students have already been burdened with other academic subjects, thus adding music subjects will enhance their workload. the sheer volume of knowledge including formulas, notions, ideas, etc that children are expected to internalize is staggering. it is simply delusional to expect that they have proper time left for essential tests, let alone learning extra music subjects. additionally, music would not be able to math skills such as reasoning, crucial thinking, analyzing, etc which act as the single most contributory element for youngsters to bettering the future life. on the other hand, despite its disadvantages, from my perspective, learning music must not be downplayed lightly for various reasons. Firstly, music allows students to reduce the stress after studying raw science subjects. after cramming a great amount of academic knowledge, what students need is to unwind by physical as well as mental activities to balance their minds. singing songs, for instance, along with the appealing melody and without raw academic formulas will bring positive emotions for such students. secondly, nowadays music has been a billion-dollar industry, thus there is numerous jobs prospect for youngsters in such area. in fact, many singers succeeded and even gained the zenith of their music career.