whether home schooling is better than a formal education

People have different opinions of whether home schooling is better than a formal education / regular schooling. While I admit that regular schooling enhances a child’s social skills, in my opinion, home schooling up to a certain age is beneficial in some other aspects. In this essay, I will discuss the plus points of both approaches and share my view. To begin with, children acquire much more academic knowledge when they attend a regular school. The traditional education system promotes a balanced curriculum, covering other non-academic areas including arts, music, sports and so on. As result, children are guided to discover their unique talents, which parents could then continue to nurture. Furthermore, learning in a classroom enables children to interact with their classmates, and at the same time, understand the importance of teamwork. In my opinion, these group activities will shape their personality / character and teach them to respect and care for others as they grow up. On the other hand, home-schooling might be beneficial in the earlier stage as parents could tailor the curriculums and emphasise on the areas that their child is weak in. For example, one child might face difficulties in math while most of their classmates find writing skills challenging. The home schooling system does not require slow learners to keep up pace with academically bright students. In addition, learning at home during the earlier stages will protect children from potentially negative influences at school. In conclusion, I believe that both methods possess their own advantages and parents should take into account their child’s personality when making the choices. As for myself, I would first teach my children at home and only send them to school around the age of 10.