whether cities are worse to live now is a matter of debate. to what extent you agree or disagree

Whether cities are worse to live now is a thorny issue. Some people claim that life in today’s mega-cities is stressful while others cling to the idea that cities have had some succes in improving the environment. I partly stand in line with the former idea on the following rationales. To begin with, one of the main issues is the rising crime rate. It has rocketed in many big cities, and many say there are several dangerous no-go areas in their city. Fear of crime is on the increase and citizens are afraid of going out at night alone due to the fact that it may threaten their lives. For instance, street crimes including mugging, assault and vandalism are now very common. In addition, in terms of psychology, it is can be said that the daily commune to work in metropolitans is a source of frustration which is a culprit of stress. Besides, researchs have indicated that 40% of the residents have suffered from road rage, three-quarters of them say that public transport is often subject to delays. On the other hand, the headers of authorities have made great efforts in lessening the city’s pollution. Take Amsterdam as a telling example, the city’s survey shown that overall air quality has been enhanced, follwed by cases of respiratory diseases such as asthma and bronchitis soaring in recent years. However, in some parts of the city, the majority of people reported about being fed up with the constant noise pollution ranging from the roar of traffic, the sound of loud music to the constant sound of activity. As a result, the levels of stress-related illness among people who live in cities are higher than ever before. To recap, i partly advocate this issue. Much as living in big cities may being suffered form many serious diseases, it is improving regarding environment day by day.