whether children should start learning foreign language at primary or secondary school

Many countries around the globe incorporate teaching a minimum of one foreign language in their educational system. There is a debate whether children should start learning a new language in primary or secondary school. Even though learning a language is a continuous process that take a lifetime to master and be comfortable with, the stage when people are exposed to has a great Impact. During earlier periods of life, humans’ ability to grasp new knowledge and the speed of using new words in day-to-day activities tends to be fast. This solely has to do with the level of brain development at the toddler stage. As a result of this, introducing a foreign language at primary school has its own numerous benefits. However, during the process of this, there is high chance of creating a confusion between the native and foreign language they are learning. There is also another perspective on this view that is to begin the learning process at higher levels. Adolescents have the capacity to choose the foreign language that interests them, moreover they are old enough to find ways to access materials that help them exercise new vocabularies and learn about the culture of the foreign country. Other reason in favor of this idea is they can easily practice what they learnt among themselves. Despite all the advantages listed, there are also disadvantages as humans learn languages better in free environments than when confined to an institution. In conclusion, I believe it is better to expose children to another language at earlier stages of life.