when residing in another country people should adapt to the customs and traditions

Every nation in the world has its own unique culture. The idea that, when residing in another country people should adapt to the customs and traditions remains a source of controversy. In my opinion, I completely agree with this idea. On the one hand, there are many benefits for people who adopt the customs and traditions of their new country. One advantage is that newcomers can easily contact local people, which means that the locals will be more welcoming when they feel that the foreigners are showing respect to their local way of life. Therefore, this close link might lead to greater integration and mutual understanding. Another benefit is that new immigrants will enjoy the traditions and be able to take part in community life. During the festivals and national holidays, they will feel like they belong to their new country. On the other hand, people who do not conform to the norms of society have to deal with problems. Firstly, it will become almost impossible for them to blend into the new environment. For example, if starting a business, they have to do research about local customs in order to be successful. Like in the case of KFC and Burger King when they went to Vietnam, KFC learned that Vietnamese prefer street food which is cheap and convenient to eat. For that, they changed their products to that way. Opposite to KFC, Burger King did not do that. Therefore, Burger King failed in Vietnam and KFC gained lots of success and had more restaurants in Vietnam. Secondly, immigrants might fall foul of the law if they do not respect the behaviour and customs of locals. For instance, in Singapore, people will be considered dirty and ill-managed if they litter the streets and spit gum in public places. In conclusion, as the reasons were mentioned above, I totally agree with the idea that everyone should have knowledge about the customs and habits of locals in the host country in order to integrate fully into the society.