When planning a new town, it is observed by some that developing public parks and sports facilities is much more essential than building shopping centers for the citizens to spend their spare time in

When planning a new town, it is observed by some that developing public parks and sports facilities is much more essential than building shopping centers for the citizens to spend their spare time in. Personally, I strongly agree with this school of thought. On the one hand, developing shopping centers would be beneficial to publics for some reasons. The first reason is that building shopping centers could enhance the standard of living. This is because it will provide the residents more choices in buying items for themselves and their families. Secondly, it is a good way to spend time with family members in shopping centers at the weekends. In some sunny and hot days, engaging in outdoor activities might not be comfortable and also affect negatively on our health. Therefore, spending time in shopping centers which have air-conditioners is much better in those days. On the other hand, I would argue that we should concentrate more on developing public parks and sports facilities as these provide us significant advantages that shopping centers do not have. Firstly, public parks help people recharge the energy and be close to the nature, which can be helpful for our mental health. Moreover, when going for a walk in public parks, the residents can talk and keep in touch with their neighbors. As a result, the bonding among people in the neighborhood will increase. Secondly, constructing sports facilities such as gym, stadium and swimming pool would raise people’s awareness of doing exercises regularly. By doing exercises everday, people can strengthen their mussle and keep fit. In conclusion, although there are some merits of developing shopping centers, I would reaffirm that it is more important to invest money on constructing public parks and sports facilities when planning a new town.