My teaching strengths and weaknesses

Thanks to the Teaching Practice course, I had a golden opportunity to conduct micro-teaching in terms of reading skills. Although my teaching strengths were quite enormous, there were several teaching weaknesses I would need to pay special attention to. There are three teaching strengths. The first one is the preparation before the class meeting. I spent a great deal of time reading books and watching videos related to teaching reading skills to find the most effective reading techniques for the students. The second one is that I delivered knowledge to students quite clearly. I made efforts to speak loudly, use appropriate linking words to make the lesson more understandable. The last one is using examples to explain content. Reading theories and exercises are combined to demonstrate how to deal with each kind of reading exercise. There are three teaching weaknesses. Firstly, I was not confident enough when lecturing. I always felt embarrassed and confused during the lesson, which made me reluctant to present content. Secondly, my lesson tends to be teacher-centred. I took a tremendous amount of class time to teach reading techniques; therefore, students were not given much time to participate in learning activities. Finally, my speaking skills are not good enough to be a teacher of English. I could not say something in English fluently and naturally, which might have adverse impacts on learners’ pronunciation. In conclusion, despite having many teaching strengths, my teaching weaknesses were quite considerable. Hence, I will make great attempts to sharpen my strengths and find practical solutions to mitigate my weaknesses in the future.