when people succeed, it is due to hard work. luck has nothing to do with success

We have all heard stories about people who have achieved accomplishment in their life, and we frequently wonder how they did it. Personally, I believe that success is only the consequence of hard work and perseverance. I feel this way for two main reasons, which I will explore in the following essay. To begin with, success is always the result of hard work over a long period of time. achievement happens gradually, and only after a series of correct decisions and small victories. A stroke of luck, in contrast, is generally perceived to be a one-time event. The experience of my uncle, a successful entrepreneur, is a compelling example of what I mean. Since 2005, he has run a immensely profitable technology firm which manufactures and sells a wide range of products. His business started very small when he invested his savings to develop and market a single brand and hire his first employee. When that brand became popular, my uncle compounded his success by introducing new products and gradually increasing the size of his company. His team later grew from a single employee to include a staff of dozens. While my uncle might have been lucky at one stage of his company’s growth, the long-term success of his firm cannot simply be the consequence of good fortune. Secondly, advance is usually the result of careful planning, research and education, all of which require numerous work to achieve. For instance, a number of people said that my uncle was lucky when his initial product offering was successful. However, he was confident that his product would be a hit even before he started manufacturing it. This is due to the fact he spent thousands of dollars on market research and focus groups. It was this investment of time and money, not luck, which assured the early achievement of his business. Likewise, when his small firm merged with another firm merely before that company rose to prominence some called him lucky. However, my uncle had spent weeks interviewing the research and development team at that company and predicted their accomplishment based on what they told him. Had he not been confident of their potential, he would not have completed the merger. Again, this victory was the result of diligence rather than luck, despite what a number of observers say about it.