When people need to complain about a product or poor service, some prefer to complain in writing and others prefer to complain in person.

In day to day life, it is quite common that the daily useful products undergo repair and we are dissatisfied with some services from a provider. To complain about these to the concerned party, some send letters or emails and others complain in person. These two ways differ in resolution time and effectiveness. The drafted complaint is a lengthy way because the delivery of complaint through courier or postal service takes time. In addition, if the service provider could not understand our complaint then to and fro communication between two parties take additional time. For example, when my microwave oven was damaged, I sent a written complaint to the service centre and it took 2 days to deliver the letter along with the product. Two days later I got a call from the service centre technician for the complaint clarification as he could not understand it clearly. Finally, I got back my micro woven after 7 days. In contrast face to face complaints takes less time. When we give complaints personally, they are quickly resolved and give effective results. For instance, a few days back I bought Rasagulla sweets and I found them spoiled after opening the container. Immediately I went to the supermarket, complained in person and returned the items. Consequently, they informed the manufacturer to collect back all the boxes of Rasagulla sweets which had the same batch number that I complained. As a result, manufacturer and seller reputation was saved and I got my result. In short, the above two examples say that an in person complaint is more effective than a pened complaint.