When people need to complain about a product or poor service, some prefer to complain in writing and others prefer to complain in person.

A lot of times, people need to complain about a product or poor service which is quite common nowadays. It is, therefore, important for one to identify the best medium for your complaints to have the desired effect. Rising complaints both in person or in writing have their pros and cons but I personally prefer to lodge my complaints in writing. Firstly, putting down your complaints in writing has the advantage of getting to the person intended. That person is usually at the top of the hierarchy. For example, if someone complains to the driver of a bus about over-speeding or reckless driving, the information might not get to the manager of the transport company but may only end up with the driver which might not stop the driver from over speeding in the future and therefore the complaint would not make any impact. Secondly, writing to the manager about a poor service gives the manager time to understand and assimilate the gravity of the situation and understand how important it was to you the consumer for you to take your time to write about a certain problem. In addition, if one decides to complain in person, emotions may come into play and may lead to the exchange of words and the desired effect is therefore not achieved.   Written complaints also have the advantage of being referred to in the future. In summary, written complaints have the advantage of getting to the individual in charge, being able to be referred to in the future and giving the receiver ample time to understand the situation and to address it appropriately. As a result, I would prefer to forward my complaints in writing.