When it comes to people’s attitudes towards the way to learn about a country’s culture, different individuals have different opinions. While some believe that instead of traveling other nations to learn about new culture, we can acquire as much as related information from books, movies and World Wide Web. I completely agree with this view.

Some claim that the main advantage of traveling is that it allows people to have a deep understanding of the local culture. This is because it offers us an opportunity to communicate with local residents, enjoy the local cuisine and appreciate the beautiful scenery there. All these experiences give us first-hand resources to form our unique insights about that place’s culture such as the traditional custom and local history. However, it is not mandatory to travel to different regions to get to know other cultures. It is due to the face that such approach would probably require a large amount of money and energy, and consequently, not everyone can afford it. Then, the reason that I am in this position is that using modern technology like watching foreign films and surfing the internet individuals could get enough information about other nations’ festivals, cuisines, scenic spots and so on. For example, in China, there are many kinds of discovery programs which provides various cultural episodes for people to experience the different lives in other regions. What is more, the words and images in books are also able to demonstrate and transmit all the information to the readers.  It is common that the cultural details and historical stories in the books are well-considered by the authors, and so it is deep enough to reflex the culture of a country. In conclusion, I am in this position that reading books, watching films and surfing the Internet could provide enough information for people to learn about the culture, and thus, it is not necessary for everyone to travel to a foreign country.