Old-people’s home is popular accommodation for the retired and elderly folks in Britain.

Old-people’s home is popular accommodation for the retired and elderly folks in Britain. They are well-equipped with adequate facilities and specially trained nurses who cater to them. There is a growing discussion about who is responsible for the upkeep of these folks housed in the homes. While a number of people say it is the responsibility of their family, others argue that payment should be billed to the government. This essay will discuss why the families should be responsible for paying the bills incurred by the elderly folks in the nursing homes. Caring for an elderly parent can be physically demanding and emotionally draining to children. In most cases, these children are grown-up and have families of their own who require their immediate attention. Therefore, it becomes easier to send their aging parents to an old people’s home where they would not only be taken care of my trained nurses, but also have a community of age-appropriate peers. These services come at a huge cost and often times becomes a burden to the family especially in cases where the aged parent have chronic health conditions which require specialist care. For example, Alzheimer’s is one of the most common and most expensive diseases that old people have. Therefore, people expect that the government will step in and use the tax that they have contributed over the years to pay for their comfort in their old age.