When designing a building, the most important factor is intended use of the building rather than its outward appearance.

On the one hand, a building that has an appealing appearance may be a source of beautification of its locality that may be able to encourage people to visit it as it may serve as an incentive for tourism, leisure or work. For example, the bath houses of Brighton are well-known for their bright and colorful designs and promote tourism in the state of Victoria. Similarly, attractive university campuses and office spaces are deemed to be popular study and work destinations among young adults. However, the function of a building is of pivotal importance when considering its design. A building needs to accommodate the needs of its owners, residents and patrons. Specifically, one basic necessity of any building is safety, that is, it needs to be sturdy and durable. However, nowadays, there are many fashionable styles of buildings that compromise their stability and safety. For example, in India, an architectural firm gained popularity for its one-of-a-kind designs and, a few years later the designs were claimed as unsafe when many of the buildings collapsed during a minor earthquake. As a result, several resources were wasted and many lives were endangered in light of the importance given to outward appearance of the buildings over their basic functionality. In conclusion, I agree to some extent that the purpose of a building is of utmost importance instead of the external aspects when designing it, as without serving the primary functions, a building would be a waste of essential resources and even risky.