When designing a building, many people think that they should focus on the intended use of the building rather than its outward appearance. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of this and give your own opinion.

People have different views about the essentials of a building’s function as compared to the external beauty when it comes to planning a construction. From my perspective, the benefits of this tendency are far weightier compared to its drawback, which will be meticulously explained as follows. On the one hand, it cannot be denied that focusing on the usage of the building offers two major disadvantages. It stands to reason that people may put more of an emphasis on how a building looks rather than how the building will be used at their first look, thereby those buildings, which are designed to be visually attractive, might generate more profits than others. These factors not only seem closely linked to a decrease in the value of the building but also exert negative influences on the owner of the building. Another drawback would revolve around the attraction of a city. For instance, a lot of cities are attracted by the exquisite beauty of the buildings, which also create a huge number of tourist destinations. Thus, if the owners don't pay much attention to the exterior appearance, it could affect the tourism of the neighbourhood. On the other hand, the usage of a building, in my point of view, presents more benefits. Indeed, if we focus more on the intended use of a building, it could be more economical for the owner or even for the users. The owners can pay more money for the facilities as well as necessary equipment instead of wasting their money on the appearance. Therefore, we can also take full advantage of the construction. In addition, focussing on the functionality of a design can bring back more convenience and comfort for their users. For example, a hospital, which focuses more on its facilities rather than its outside looking, will surely provide the best environment for their patients. In conclusion, despite the fact that focusing on the appearance of a building can have several merits, I still believe that the benefits of paying attention to the function of a building outweigh them in the long term.