When choosing a job, the salary is the most important consideration for many. Others, however, prefer different other aspects of a job over the salary they earn.

It might seem strange yet blunt, but we cannot deny that we work to earn money so that we can put food on the table for us and our family. However, besides the salary we earn, we also look for job satisfaction, growth opportunity and social recognition from our career. To begin with, salary is important because without it we will not be working for a company at all. Some people are always after money and would not hesitate to change their job if they are offered a higher salary. However, to others, job satisfaction is equally important as it ensures work-life balance and allows us to be happy in our workplace. A large number of people would not compromise their job satisfaction for the money they are offered. Many top executives who resign from large corporations to work for smaller companies or to run their own companies are great examples of how much they value job satisfaction over the wages they earn. Moreover, the growth opportunity is another aspect people often sought for in their careers. 'A moderate salary and a great career growth aspect' is far better than 'a higher salary and no career growth' according to many professionals, and they are prudent enough to envision the future than to run after only money. Finally, people often want to be in a career that is socially appreciated and valued. For example, a few of my colleagues left high-paid private jobs to take government jobs only because that would give them social recognition and I quite understand the rationale for their decisions. In conclusion, besides salary, job satisfaction which ensures a work-life balance is also important. Moreover, career growth and social recognition often drive us to choose a job that brings us less money than we could actually make from other jobs. Tips: Important aspects of a job other than "salary": 1. Job security 2. Job satisfaction 3. Great working environment 4. Opportunities for use of skills and abilities 5. Appreciation and rewards 6. Feeling safe at the workplace 7. Social recognition 8. Passion for the work 9. Contributing to the betterment of the environment and people 10. Benefits and compensation 11. Respect and trust 12. Great co-workers and management 13. Retirement benefits 14. Good work-life balance 15. Learning and career development 16. Company's financial stability