Some people say that in our modern age, it is unnecessary to teach children about the skills of handwriting.

Handwriting skills involve craftsmanship, artistic way of presenting letters and require a great deal of time and practice. Since students are more likely to type rather than write on a paper for the rest of their life, I do not believe that this skill is prevalent in this modern era where computers are used both in the academic and professional arenas. To begin with, neat handwriting was a criterion for academic success in the past, but not anymore in this digital era. Assignments, classwork, tests and other school activities are mostly done on computers and this is why a student needs to grasp the skills of computing and typing more than presenting immaculate letter formations on a paper. To illustrate an example, I  submitted three assignments during my last term and all of them were submitted to my teachers' emails, and not a single one was handwritten. Besides, time invested in honing excellent handwriting can be better utilised in mastering more important subjects and skills. Moreover, the use of computers and the Internet in offices is a common trend. An employee is expected to be an expert computer user, and immaculate handwriting is not a requirement to be hired by a company. Ironically, better penmanship has little value in a world surrounded by technology. Considering the future, when computers would be more predominant, parents and teachers should focus more on teaching technology to students than instructing how much a letter should be stressed or curved! To conclude, academic activities and professional needs, in this era of technology, compel students to have skills in computers and this is why it would be more practical to enhance their technical skills rather than handwriting skills- which has already become less important.