When choosing a job, the salary is the most important consideration for many. Others, however, prefer different other aspects of a job over the salary they earn.

I do believe that salary is one of the major driving force to select a job, but there are many other important factors that play a vital role. For example: opportunity to learn and grow, social recognition, work-life balance and job satisfaction. As a rational being one would not deny the fact that we work for money to put the food on the table. Some, would not hesitate to leave the job if they are offered better salary, even though it requires 24x7 availability and minimal vacation period to spend with their families and friends. However, to others, to have a work-life balance that would allow them to spend a substantial amount of time with their family is also important. We come across of news every now and then where a top executives resign from their job to run their own companies. Moreover, some jobs provide lesser salaries, but better job satisfaction where one feels that he/she is contributing to the society. For example, elementary school teachers, they help nurture the talent pool of the country from grass root levels that ultimately bring greater good to the society in the form of Doctors, engineers, scientists, artists. They consider their job as responsibility towards the society and it gives them the sense of accomplishment and earns due respect in the society. Some jobs allow better growth opportunities than salaries, young professionals with long term goals and ambitions do prefer jobs where they have ample opportunities to learn and grow at the same time. For them, money is the means but not an end in itself, they invest their time and efforts to become more efficient and valuable asset to the company. In conclusion, apart from exceptional salaries, we choose the jobs that allow you to have work-life balance, provides you growth opportunities, sense of accomplishment, social recognition.