When cars and cyclists use the same roads, there are often problems. Why is this the case? What are the solutions?

It is widely known that the idea of private vehicles and bicycles are operated in the same roads could lead into negative consequences. This essay would demonstrate the causes of this problem and then explain how governments could play a pivotal role to mitigate and tackle this issue. To begin with, the obvious cause when the same roads are used by car drivers and cyclists is the high number of accidents occurred in roads. This is because the speed differences between cyclists and car drivers used, while car drivers usually maintain speed at around 40-60 kilometers per hour, cyclists can only reach 30 kilometers at maximum. Therefore, most of the road accidents are reported happen when car owners want to overtake people who ride bicycle. Moreover, road accidents also commonly happen in heavy rain due to the incomplete equipment used by bicycle riders. Referring to the aforementioned causes, I would argue that the key solution to mitigate the number of road accidents are governments should construct a separate road for cyclists that could not be passed by any other transportation forms. Secondly, governments could force people who drive private vehicle to limit their speed if there are cyclists in the same road. Moreover, authorities may also raise people’s awareness and ensure them to always ride bicycle in a safety procedure with safety gear, primarily during the bad weather conditions. In conclusion, I would argue that governments should build and expand the existing roads to facilitate cyclists to reduce the number of road accidents occurred due to speed differences between own vehicles and bicycles. Furthermore, raising cyclists’ awareness to ride in a safer way could prevent them from fatal accidents particularly in bad weather conditions.